Underwater Wonders

The list of the Seven Underwater Wonders of the World was created by CEDAM International (Conservation, Education, Diving, Awareness and Marine research), a non-profit organization of divers. This organization is dedicated to oceanic research and conservation.

CEDAM began the Seven Underwater Wonders project in 1989. At this time, it was decided that a list of sea wonders should be created in order to protect these special locations in the under water world, before they are lost forever.

Each of these wonders of the sea was selected because of its beauty, its marine life, its scientific research value and its environmental importance.

Finally, the results were revealed at the National Aquarium in Washington DC, and the list includes the following amazing places:
Puerto Ayora, Ecuador

Deep Sea Vents

Also known as hydrothermal vents. They sustain some of the most bizarre and impressive ecosystems of the world, since these ecosystems are to a great depth and live without sunlight.
Belize City

Belize Barrier Reef

The Belize Barrier Reef is the largest barrier reef of the western hemisphere and the second of the world. Its beauty has no comparison in the world.
Puerto Ayora, Ecuador

Galapagos Islands

This archipelago is the home of some of the most beautiful and impressive species of the world, which inspired to Charles Darwin to create his Theory of Evolution.
Palau, Pacific Ocean

Palau Reefs

Formed around two million years ago, this Pacific Ocean archipelago is one of the most biodiverse Coral Reefs of the world.
Queensland, Australia

Great Barrier Reef

It is the largest Coral Reef in the world and is the only collective living organism that can be seen from Earth’s orbit.
Irkutsk, Russia

Lake Baikal

Lake Baikal is the deepest lake in the world and the largest reservoir of fresh surface water on the planet. It hosts a great variety of endemic species of flora and fauna.
Aqaba, Jordan

Northern Red Sea

It is considered one of the best places of the world for scuba diving, it is known also as the ‘Underwater Garden of Eden’.
7wonders.org logo
Journey with us to discover the most amazing places in the world. Learn about world and national wonders and create your own ultimate bucket list!
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram